Courses

Tiger Driving School is approved, certified, and licensed by the Department of Public Safety & Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, and the State of Louisiana.

 

 

COURSE INFORMATION

The classroom portion of instruction is thirty (30) hours over a four (4) day session.  Class lectures will include traffic laws and regulations, signs, traffic lights, and markings, correct and safe driving procedures, emergencies, driving hazards including weather conditions, alcohol, drug abuse, motorcycle safety, interstate driving, and driving offenses.  

 

A test will be administered after each chapter along with a comprehensive final exam on the last day of class.  The final exam requires a passing score of at least 80%.  Students who fail to achieve the required score will be able to arrange for additional classes or class period to retake the exam for an additional cash fee of $50.00.  Certificates will be held until all fees are paid.  Driving is a privilege which should be taken very serious and students are urged to ask as many questions needed to fully understand any and all material.  If a student has any sort of disability that should hinder them, please notify Tiger Driving School prior to enrolling.

 

Once a student has successfully completed his or her thirty (30) hour class along with successfully passing the final exam, the student will then be trained in a dual-brake training vehicle.  Prior to a student beginning the driving portion, a parent or guardian must sign the Commercial School Instruction Permit.  Students are scheduled in four two-hour blocks on different days and may be picked up by the instructor at their home, school, or workplace within a 5 mile radius.  Students must ensure that they are at the agreed pickup location at the appointed time.  It is entirely up to the instructor’s discretion on where the student will be picked up and dropped off.

 

No student will be given a certificate before completing these requirements.

 

 

38 HOUR EDUCATION COURSE 

(30 hour lecture course and 8 hour behind the wheel driving)

Students who wish to enroll for the 38 hour course are required to be at least 14 years and 9 months of age.  However, to complete the 8 hour behind the wheel driving, the student must be at least 15 years of age.  For those students who do not yet meet the age requirement for the driving portion, Tiger Driving School will make the proper arrangements to postpone and reschedule for those students.

  • $395.00 if the payment is CASH OR CHECK ONLY
  • $395.00 if the payment is made ONLINE USING PayPal

 

Class times: 8:00 am – 4:30 pm for the first three days and 8:00 am – 2:30 pm on the last day

WHAT TO BRING: 

  • Writing utensil
  • Notebook
  • Bag lunch or lunch money (lunch will be ordered and picked up by the driving school)

Louisiana Driver’s Guides are available for purchase at an additional $15.00 fee

 

DRIVING DELAY POLICY:

Our instructors strive to work as fast as possible so that an extended wait period is avoided.  We work closely with each family’s schedule.  Inclement weather delays our drivers.  Due to popularity, the wait time can take as long as a few months.  The summer along with holidays are considered the busy season so we encourage families to consider the wait during these times when enrolling.

 

MISSED/CANCELED DRIVING POLICY:

If a student misses or cancels a scheduled driving session without reasonable notice (24 hour prior notice) a cash fee of $25.00 will be charged to cover the instructor costs. Certificates will be held until all fees are paid. No certificate will be awarded until the course requirements are met.

 

LOST CERTIFICATE POLICY:

If a certificate is misplaced or lost after being handed over by a Tiger Driving instructor, there will be a $10.00 replacement charge.

 

 

(The fees listed above will include one original and one copy of the Certification of Completion upon completing the course with a passing score of 80% or higher.)

 

 


 

14 HOUR PRE-LICENSING COURSE 

(6 hour lecture course and 8 hour behind the wheel driving)

The 14 hour pre-licensing course is for individuals 18 years and older.  The state of Louisiana requires that an individual has to take a minimum 14 hour pre-licensing in order to obtain a driver’s license for the first time.

  • $400.00 if the payment is CASH OR CHECK ONLY
  • $400.00 if the payment is made ONLINE USING PayPal

 

Class times: 4:00 pm – 7:00 pm for both class days or 9:00 am - 3:00 pm if class is only on one day

WHAT TO BRING: 

  • Writing utensil
  • Notebook

Louisiana Driver’s Guides are available for purchase at an additional $15.00 fee

 

MISSED/CANCELED DRIVING POLICY:

If a student misses or cancels a scheduled driving session without reasonable notice (24 hour prior notice) a cash fee of $25.00 will be charged to cover the instructor costs. Certificates will be held until all fees are paid. No certificate will be awarded until the course requirements are met.

 

LOST CERTIFICATE POLICY:

If a certificate is misplaced or lost after being handed over by a Tiger Driving instructor, there will be a $10.00 replacement charge.

 

 

(The fees listed above will include one original and one copy of the Certification of Completion upon completing the course with a passing score of 80% or higher.) 

 

 


 

8 HOUR BEHIND-THE-WHEEL COURSE

(8 hour behind the wheel driving)

This course consists of 8 hours behind-the-wheel training. It is designed for students that have completed the 30 hours of classroom instruction with a certified driving school and/or for students that who are 18 years of age or older that have completed the classroom portion of the 14 hour pre-licensing course. An original copy of the students 30 or 6 hour certificate is required before driving can begin. The minimum age requirement for behind the wheel training is 15 years of age.

  • $375.00 if the payment is CASH OR CHECK ONLY

 

 

 

MISSED/CANCELED DRIVING POLICY:

If a student misses or cancels a scheduled driving session without reasonable notice (24 hour prior notice) a cash fee of $25.00 will be charged to cover the instructor costs. Certificates will be held until all fees are paid. No certificate will be awarded until the course requirements are met.

 

LOST CERTIFICATE POLICY:

If a certificate is misplaced or lost after being handed over by a Tiger Driving instructor, there will be a $10.00 replacement charge.

 

 

(The fees listed above will include one original and one copy of the Certification of Completion upon completing the course with a passing score of 70% or higher.)

 

 

 


  

THIRD PARTY ROAD TESTING 

(examination of the driver's ability to safely operate and maneuver a vehicle in traffic) 

The State of Louisiana has allowed for driving schools to offer the Third-Party Road Skill Test for the purpose of issuing the state required road test.  In order for any driving school to become certified, special training and rigorous requirements must be met.  By offering this service, we are able to set up flexible appointments.

REQUIREMENTS:

• The applicant must successfully complete the road skills test before issuance of a Class D or E driver’s license. This includes first-time applicants and applicants with learner permits.

• The applicant must use Tiger Driving School's vehicle for the road skills test as a safety precaution for both the applicant and the examiner.

• Tiger Driving School's cars are currently licensed, insured and have passed vehicle inspections by a motor vehicle examiner.

  • $50.00 CASH ONLY ($30.00 for the test and $20.00 for the rental of our vehicle)

 

 


 

ADDITIONAL DRIVING OPPORTUNITY 

Students may opt for additional behind-the-wheel driving: $50.00 CASH ONLY for additional sessions by appointments. (two hours minimum) 

 

 

 


 

 

LEGAL DISCLAIMER 

All payments, prices, specifications, options, and information are subject to change without notice.

 

 

 

Go to top